## **DSC Faculty Meeting**

## September 10, 2018

DSL 499 2:30 - 3:30

**Present:** Peter Beerli, Gordon Erlebacher, Chen Huang, Alan Lemmon, Tomek Plewa, Bryan Quaife, Sachin Shanbhag, Dennis Slice, Xiaoqiang Wang

- 1. Meeting was called to order. Minutes from the April 9, 2018 meeting were approved.
- Currently our student numbers show 39 undergraduate students and 35 graduate students. Three international students who completed the FSU intent to enroll form did not come.
- 3. The primary focus of this meeting was to fill positions on departmental committees. There is a Chair Search Committee, an Undergraduate Committee, a Graduate Committee, and an Executive Committee.
- 4. Gordon Erlebacher's tenure as chair ends at the end of summer 2019. The Chair Search Committee requires four members. Two members must be full professors. No committee member can apply for the chair position. Gordon will serve as committee member. Peter Beerli, Sachin Shanbhag, and Dennis Slice were voted to be the other members of the Chair Search Committee.
- 5. Faculty voted to serve on the Undergraduate Committee are Peter Beerli, chair, Anke Meyer-Baese, and Dennis Slice.
- 6. Faculty voted to serve on the Graduate Committee are Xiaoqiang Wang, chair, Tomek Plewa, and Sachin Shanbhag.
- 7. The Executive Committee is comprised of five members. Gordon, as our current chair, will select three members. Anke Meyer-Baese, and Dennis Slice were voted to serve on this committee.
- 8. The meeting concluded at 3:30 p.m.